Books of the Month – November 2016

The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

second

I can’t express how much I adored this book. I was moved by it in many ways, it made me weep, laugh, hide and smile. This book tells the story of childhood sweethearts Rose and Lucas, who are torn apart when Lucas is tragically killed in a road accident by a drunk driver. The book explores the struggle Rose has in dealing with her grief in the aftermath of his death, in loosing her ability to paint and watching her friends’ lives move on around her. The introduction of a new character to the seaside town, Robert looks set to change her life even further.The idea I liked most about the book is that it gives us hope, that no matter what we’re going through, there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

 

Johnny Be Good by Paige Toon

johnny-be-good

When I first read the premise for this book, I wasn’t immediately convinced it would be a book for me… but I can honestly say once I began reading I was hooked from the very first page. You’re immediately drawn in by Johnny’s bad boy character carried along by Meg wanting to know more about this rock star character’s mysterious background including his fractious relationship with his friend Christian. It’s a story of love, lust and heartbreak that keeps you guessing the whole way through. The end of the story, certainly doesn’t leave the reader disappointed either. It had me purchasing the sequel, ‘Baby Be Mine’, within minutes of finishing the last page. In all honesty, I can’t put into words how much I enjoyed it and how much I am looking forward to reading it a second time… it left me lost for words! So I urge you to give it a go and find out for yourselves!

Leave a Reply

