Change Your Attitude!

‘Happiness is a state of mind. It’s just according to the way you look at things.’

– Walt Disney

I recently went on a course for work on ‘Growth Mindset’ and one of the speakers there used the phrase ‘change your attitude’. It got me thinking. Something I’ve realised over the past year is that life can be pretty rubbish sometimes. It can knock us down when we least expect it without warning and it can be hard to get back on our feet again. But, what the phrase ‘change your attitude’ encouraged me to think about was the idea that the way we perceive the events that happen in our lives has a huge impact on how we are able to cope with them. It is all too easy to be negative and spend our time whining and wallowing. I confess I’ve been there, we all have right?

What if we could change that? Well, we can. We’re in charge of our own happiness and it’s our job to ensure we’re living life to the full. So, it’s time to start changing the way we look at things and ask ourselves some important questions. How could I turn this situation around? Can I make this better in anyway?

After a recent low dip in my life. I decided that this week it’s time to get back on track, to stop wallowing, sweating the small stuff and get back to what’s really important to me. So, I thought about three simple steps I could use to change my attitude..

  1. Talk about it. Whatever is getting us down, no matter how big or how small it is important to communicate how we’re feeling. Carrying negative thoughts around can make us feel heavy until we burst, so discussing things with others can already help to change our attitude as it will make us feel lighter.
  2. Don’t moan! Once we’ve let out whatever it is that’s bothering us, we need to let go and resist the constant urge to bitch/moan about our problems. Allow yourself the opportunity to put it behind you and open yourself up to more positive experiences.
  3. Remember the positives. Last and by no means least it is so important to remember the positives. How are you going to use what has happened to you in a positive  light? How many other positives do you have in your life to outweigh the bad. It is important to remember that every cloud has a silver lining.

So, just a short post for the start of the week to spread a little positive energy. Let me know your thoughts, hints and tips!

Booksby

x

 

Leave a Reply

