John Lewis Christmas Ads Ranking!

It’s that time of year again. That time when we snuggle up on the sofa in our winter woollies and wait for the new John Lewis advert to appear. Seeing Christmas adverts appear on the TV is one of my favourite parts of the run-up to Christmas. I mean Christmas doesn’t officially start for me until I’ve seen the Coca Cola and the John Lewis advert on the TV. There’s something universal about seeing something heartwarming and soppy with that Christmas feel on our screens.

In light of the recent release of Buster the boxer, I decided to rank my favourite John Lewis adverts to date. So, here we go…

6. The Journey (2012)

The best part of the the advert for me is the music the cover of ‘Power of Love’ by Gabrielle Aplin is gorgeous and having seen it performed live I can attest this. The story of a snowman going on a powerful journey to get his love a Christmas present is very heartwarming, but for me it doesn’t quite live up to the likes of Monty the penguin. Unfortunately, someone had to go last and I’m sorry snowmen it was you! Still a worthy advert all the same!

5. The Bear and the Hare (2013)

It was quite nice to see something a little different from John Lewis in 2013  in the form of an animated advert. Equally, this advert was more about friendship than a powerful love story which to be honest was a little refreshing (and that’s coming from a hopeless romantic). I liked the idea of the hare giving the bear an alarm clock for Christmas to make sure he didn’t miss anything and it made me think about the thought I put into the presents I get for my friends at Christmas time. An excellent cover of ‘Somewhere Only We Know’ by Lily Allen also completes the advert giving a it lovely feel.

4. Man on the Moon (2015)

I’ll be honest out of all of the John Lewis adverts, this one had the best message. The idea that we need to look out for everyone at Christmas time, especially the elderly, as some are not as fortunate as others and don’t have their loved ones around to spend Christmas with. The little girl sending a Christmas gift all the way to the Moon is very heartwarming and it’s an advert not to be missed. Well done John Lewis!

3. For Gifts You Can’t Wait to Give (2011)

To this day, this is still one of my favourite Christmas adverts. A little boy so excited and impatient about the count down to Christmas is an all too familiar feeling. I remember it feeling quite nostalgic watching it, thinking about all those Christmas Eves as a child were I would wish away December and lie awake for hours with excitement. Initially, we all believe that is excited to receive his presents on Christmas day but the reveal at the end just melts my heart. I won’t give it away, have a watch and remind yourself!

2. Buster the Boxer (2016)

Now, this advert got a lot of negative feedback and generally seems to have been under-rated. But, I love this advert! It actually made me laugh out loud! There’s something oddly satisfying when watching a boxer dog live his dream of jumping on a trampoline, alongside some very cute woodland creatures. What I also love about this advert is that it reminds us about the magic of Christmas in the eyes of children and how important and special it is to them. There’s no better feeling when seeing someone’s reaction when giving them a Christmas present and I think this advert captures that perfectly.

Something also worth mentioning is Tom and Giovanna Fletcher’s reaction video which is equally funny and heartwarming.

1. Monty the Penguin (2014)

I absolutely adore penguins, so it was a no brainer for me that this was always going to be my favourite advert. Starting with the friendship between a little boy and his friend Monty, we go on a journey with them to discover that Monty wants someone to love. So, his young friend gifts him a female penguin for Christmas for us to discover this has all come to life from the little boy’s imagination. What more is there to say really? A beautiful advert.

So, there you have it my favourite John Lewis adverts to date ranked. I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions on this! As well as, any other recommendations for Christmas adverts that I need to be watching. I’ve listed the songs included in the adverts below for the music lovers among you…

Real Love – Tom Odell, Somewhere Only We Know – Lily Allen, One Day I’ll Fly Away – The Vaults and The Power of Love by Gabrielle Aplin.

Happy viewing!

Booksby

x

Leave a Reply

